Painting Tips on St. Patty’s Day

First of all, Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I’ve been feeling nostalgic over my trip to Ireland a few months ago. This seemed like the perfect occasion to turn some of my travel photos into art.
I would never call myself a painter. Sure I took classes all the way up through college, but it’s only ever been a hobby. If you’re like me, maybe some of my painting hacks can help you out.
  • My first step is to find a few photographs that I love.
  • Make sure to have more than one painting going at a time. This will keep you from over working a piece.
  • Use pastels or light pencils to sketch a rough layout while looking to the photo as a guide.
  • Lightly paint a base layer of very watered down paint. Keep an eye out for the light sources and shadows.
  • Take it slow. Do a little work and then wait half an hour to come back to each painting. This will help you see your work in a new light.
  • If you’re not sure how you feel about the work you’ve done, take a photo of it. Seeing how things look through a lens can sometimes bring a new inspiration.
  • Once you feel like you’ve finished, pick your favorites and frame them. A good frame goes a long way.

Good luck and happy painting!

Painting Tips / Happy St. Patrick's Day / Crafted in Carhartt
Painting Tips / Happy St. Patrick's Day / Crafted in Carhartt
Painting Tips / Happy St. Patrick's Day / Crafted in Carhartt
Painting Tips / Happy St. Patrick's Day / Crafted in Carhartt
Painting Tips / Happy St. Patrick's Day / Crafted in Carhartt