DIY Embroidered Shirt

Let me start off by saying, Happy Cinco de Mayo! In honor of the holiday, I’d like to pay homage to the textiles of Mexico. Distinct, full of color, and detailed to the brim–these handmade beauties are nothing short of awe inspiring. The painstakingly perfect embroidery is perhaps one of the most well known aspects Mexico’s fiber art has to offer. Many of these patterns date back to ancient times.

Using thick embroidery thread and a few of the stitching techniques I outlined below, I updated an old T-Shirt.

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt

Start by adding stitches to the neck of your shirt. I made concentric circles and added in a few details.

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt

Then I did a simple treatment on each sleeve rim. Double up your thread if you’d like to speed up your process.

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt

Next, I cut a few inches off the bottom of my T-Shirt to give it a whole new feel.

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt

Then using the same technique that I used on the sleeves, I stitched the bottom.

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt

DIY Embroidered Shirt / Crafted in Carhartt