Tips From the Top Horse Rodeo Winner

Here are a few pointers from Joette Donnell, the winner of Top Horse at the 11th annual WRRA finals:

“Winning at a competition is the ultimate reward for all the time you put in practicing and money you spend traveling. It’s a lot of work to make it to the top of any sport. I will never feel like I have actually made it that far, but each successful competition I do well at, I feel like I am one step closer to being at the top. I have been blessed to have a family who is very good at training horses and competing in roping events. I have tried to take full advantage of my opportunity to learn from them. Dad used to enter ranch rodeos with my brother, JT, and I when we were in middle school and high school. We had a lot of success. I am very proud that my father would allow us to enter with him, he always had a group of grown men that would enter with him any where he wanted to compete.

Winning Top Horse was a great accomplishment! I am so proud that they chose B.P. and I. It took both of us as well as the Wild and Wooly team to achieve the honor. I love the ladies on our team! They have great work ethic and positive attitudes. That goes a long ways when you are trying to fulfill a dream.

I believe anyone who would like to win Top Horse needs to consistently work hard at their trade. They must ride all the time and keep their horse tuned up as well as themselves. They also need to perfect their roping and sorting skills in order to be on the top of their game. It doesn’t happen over night. Having a team that pulls their weight and beyond, is also a big benefit. It makes competition easier when things are going well. Your horse is much easier to show to the judges when everything your team accomplishes is fairly smooth and doesn’t leave a negative memory in the judges mind. As the saying goes…”It takes a village”, well that is true in so many facets of life. I believe anyone’s “village” helps them to accomplish their goals and realize their full potential!” -Joette Donnell

Best Horse in Show, Joette Donnell / Crafted in Carhartt

Best Horse in Show, Joette Donnell / Crafted in Carhartt

Best Horse in Show, Joette Donnell / Crafted in Carhartt

Best Horse in Show, Joette Donnell / Crafted in Carhartt