Carpenter Apprentice Traci Longenbarger

“I am a 4th year carpenter apprentice.

My father had a huge part in getting me into carpentry. Since I was little, I always loved helping him with fixing things around the house. Now that I’m an adult, I want to know more and do it all.

My advise for other women would be work hard, have thick skin, always be willing to learn, and know that you don’t have to be the strongest person out here to get the job done. It’s not about brute strength but knowledge strength and thinking outside the box.

Women can do this work and we can do it well. This line of work isn’t for everyone, but for the people that want to get into it it’s great.

My favorite part of my job is that I’m building America one building at a time. To see a building start out as dirt and end up being a beautiful building at the end, and knowing I had a part in that gives me a feeling of completion. To be able to drive by a building with my family and friends and say I had a hand in building that gives me a great sense of pride.” —Traci Longenbarger

Carpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in CarharttCarpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in CarharttCarpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in CarharttCarpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in CarharttCarpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in CarharttCarpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in CarharttCarpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in CarharttCarpenter Traci Longenbarger / Crafted in Carhartt

Take a look #throughhereyes: